Georges River Council
Carss Park is 17 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the Georges River Council. Carss Park is part of the St George area.
Carss Park is a picturesque suburb around Carss Point, overlooking Kogarah Bay on the Georges River. The suburb is surrounded by the suburbs of Kogarah Bay, Allawah, South Hurstville and Blakehurst. Carss Park is a mostly residential area featuring some valuable real estate with water views and bushland surrounds.
The area was purchased from the Crown on 28 January 1853 by Jonathon Croft for £123. It changed hands several times before being acquired in 1863 by William Carss, a cabinet-maker, who called his property Carss Bush. He built a stone cottage in the 1860s called Carss Park Cottage. After William Carss died, his family continued to live in the house, including daughter Mary Carss. William had left the estate to the trustees of the Sailor Home in Sydney. When Mary died this clause in her father’s will was honoured and the estate passed to the trustees in 1916.
In 1921 the Blakehurst Progress Association made attempts to secure Carss Bush for a public park and Kogarah council was able to acquire the land for the people. Carss Bush Park was dedicated on 26 January 1924 and 150 lots were auctioned on the same day for development. Many of the streets on the new estate were named after Aboriginal tribes.